Compare
Amazon KDP & Publishing vs Digital Products
A side-by-side look at what our sourced cases report for each model. Figures are what each source states, not typical results.
| Amazon KDP & Publishing | Digital Products | |
|---|---|---|
| Sourced cases | 4 | 10 |
| Reported per month | $846 to $13,100 | $3,000 to $28,333 |
| Median reported per month | $12,000 | $19,200 |
| Startup cost in our cases | From $0 beyond a $30 a month Midjourney plan to about $900 per book with ghostwriters in our cases | Low; mainly software subscriptions in our cases |
| Time to first dollar | First sale the day after launch in one case; not disclosed in most | Not consistently disclosed in our cases |
| Independently documented | 0 of 4 | 2 of 10 |
| Tools named most | ChatGPT, Kittl, Midjourney | ChatGPT, Midjourney, Canva |
| Main strength | Amazon provides the storefront, printing, and delivery | No shipping or inventory |
| Main risk | Amazon content and AI disclosure rules | Marketplaces are crowded with similar AI-made products |
Top Amazon KDP & Publishing cases
- Chris Rawson and Angelina Stanzione: $39,500 in 3 monthsSelf-Reported
- Tom Ryan (Selfarama): $12,000 in one monthSelf-Reported
- Sam (self-publishing author and KDP tutorial creator): $10,155 net profitPartially Verified
- Ammaar Reshi: 841 copies sold (revenue not disclosed)Self-Reported
Top Digital Products cases
- Bailey Designed Co. (Bailey): $340,000 revenueSelf-Reported
- Rebecca Beach: Up to $20,000/moSelf-Reported
- AI Never Sleeps (Jonathan Chan): $19.2K in one monthSelf-Reported
- Lance Junck: $34,913 profitIndependently Documented