Compare
Print on Demand vs Amazon KDP & Publishing
A side-by-side look at what our sourced cases report for each model. Figures are what each source states, not typical results.
| Print on Demand | Amazon KDP & Publishing | |
|---|---|---|
| Sourced cases | 6 | 4 |
| Reported per month | $1,333 to $100,000 | $846 to $13,100 |
| Median reported per month | $29,000 | $12,000 |
| Startup cost in our cases | Under $40 to start, according to one documented seller | From $0 beyond a $30 a month Midjourney plan to about $900 per book with ghostwriters in our cases |
| Time to first dollar | Not consistently disclosed in our cases | First sale the day after launch in one case; not disclosed in most |
| Independently documented | 1 of 6 | 0 of 4 |
| Tools named most | ChatGPT, Canva, Google Gemini | ChatGPT, Kittl, Midjourney |
| Main strength | No inventory to buy upfront | Amazon provides the storefront, printing, and delivery |
| Main risk | Profit margins are much lower than gross sales | Amazon content and AI disclosure rules |
Top Print on Demand cases
- Blend (Vaibhav Prakash, Jamsheed Kamardeen and Vishwanath Kollapudi): $100K/moSelf-Reported
- Ryan Hogue (Ryan's Method): $49,000 a month in passive incomeSelf-Reported
- Christina Umerez: CA$470,000 (about US$347,500)Self-Reported
- Emily Odio-Sutton: $220,300 in sales (2023)Independently Documented
Top Amazon KDP & Publishing cases
- Chris Rawson and Angelina Stanzione: $39,500 in 3 monthsSelf-Reported
- Tom Ryan (Selfarama): $12,000 in one monthSelf-Reported
- Sam (self-publishing author and KDP tutorial creator): $10,155 net profitPartially Verified
- Ammaar Reshi: 841 copies sold (revenue not disclosed)Self-Reported